Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DiStasio Bucket Gives Trinity Men's Basketball Third Place At UMass-Dartmouth Classic

DiStasio Bucket Gives Trinity Men's Basketball Third Place At UMass-Dartmouth Classic

North Dartmouth, Mass. - Senior Mick DiStasio (Yarmouth, Maine) scored the game-winning lay-up with seven seconds remaining to lead the visiting Trinity College Bantams to a 61-59 victory over the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth Corsairs in the consolation game of the 2012 UMass Dartmouth Basketball Classic, presented by the Hampton Inn at the Tripp Athletic Center this evening.  Trinity improves to 1-1, having lost to Worcester State, 103-73, in its tournament and season opener last night, while the Corsairs drop to 0-2.

The Bantams raced out to an early lead, but Mass.-Dartmouth battled back to take a 17-15 lead with 7:44 remaining in the opening half.  The Corsairs held the lead for the remainder of the first half, stretching it to as many as 10 when Mike Rotando knocked down a trey with 4:33 left in the half before taking a 36-28 lead into the break.  Trinity trailed by as many as 11 in the second half, but battled back and took a two point lead at 57-55 with 3:34 left when sophomore forward Jamil Ebo (Bloomfield, Conn.) made a layup. The Corsairs tied the game for the fifth time at 57-57 on a jumper from sophomore center Alex Rodrigues (Fall River, Mass.) with three minutes left.  The next lead Trinity had was when DiStasio clinched it, and the game ended when Rotando's three pointer from half court fell short. 

Trinity was led by freshman forward Mark Richards (Orangeburg, N.Y.) who scored 15 points off the bench, while Ebo and sophomore Mickel Simpson (Woburn, Mass.) each added 10 points.  Rotando scored a tournament-high 35 points, while knocking down 12-14 free throw attempts. Rotando also knocked down five treys on the evening and was the only member of the Corsairs to score in double figures.  Wheaton College was the champion of the 2012 UMass Dartmouth Basketball Classic as they defeated Worcester State, 78-66. The All-Tournament team included Wheaton College's Ryan Clinesmith as MVP and Mike O'Loughlin, Dane Jobst and Alex Lopez of Worcester State, DiStasio and Rotando. 

box score