Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trinity Men's Golf Wins 2018 NESCAC Title With Strong Second Day

Trinity Men's Golf Wins 2018 NESCAC Title With Strong Second Day

Newington, Conn. – Junior Will Rosenfield (Baltimore, Md.) shot the day's lowest round of 69 and tied senior teammate Kole Kelly (Belmont, Mass.) for medalist honors to lead the host Trinity College Bantams to the 2018 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Men's Golf Championship title on a chilly afternoon at Indian Hill Country Club. Trinity trailed Amherst by two strokes after Saturday's play, as the Mammoths totaled 301 as a team to the Bantams' 303, but shot 16 strokes better than Amherst today to finish at 291 and 594 for the weekend.  The Mammoths shot a 307 today to edge Williams College for second place by one at 608, as the Ephs improved 15 strokes from Saturday to Sunday (312+297) to finish at 609. Tufts came in fourth with a team score of 638 (323+315). 

Rosenfield shot seven strokes lower today, dropping from 76 to 69 to finish at 145, while Kelly was consistent with a 73 on Saturday and a 72 on Sunday.  Williams' Sam Goldenring improved five strokes from 76 to 71 today to take third with a score of 147, while Amherst's Cameron Clark (75+73) and Jack Burlison (73+75) finished tied for fourth at 148.  Jeff Giguere, one of two players from Middlebury College competing as individuals, fired a 150 (73+77) to finish sixth.  Hamilton College's Joe Tigani, also playing as an individual, was leading the field after his Saturday round of 71 but shot an 80 today to finish seventh at 151.  Justin Feldman was the top Jumbo with a two-round score of 158 (80+78) and a 15th-place finish.

Trinity sophomore Cameron Chottiner (Houston, Texas) came in eighth place at 152, shooting a round of 74 today after a 78 on Saturday, while junior Taylor Kay-Green (Needham, Mass.) fired a 77 Saturday and a 76 today to tie for ninth at 153.  Bantam senior captain Nate Choukas (Hanover, N.H.) was 12th with a 155 (77+78).  The Bantams win the NESCAC title for the second time, having previously won in 2010, and will represent the conference in the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament from May 15 to 18 at Grandover Resort in Greensboro, N.C.