Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Detter And Tashjian End Trinity Men's Squash Careers With 2nd-Best All-Time Marks

Detter And Tashjian End Trinity Men's Squash Careers With 2nd-Best All-Time Marks

Hartford, Conn., August 11, 2008 - The Trinity College men's squash team finished the 2008-09 season with its 11th straight perfect season at 19-0 and captured its third straight New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championship title, its 12th straight Intercollegiate Squash Association Dual Match title, and its 11th consecutive College Squash Association (CSA) National Team Championship crown.  The Bantams extended the longest known winning streak in the history of intercollegiate varsity sports to 202 triumphs in a row. 

To close the 2008-09 campaign, junior Baset Chaudhry (Lahore, Pakistan) defeated Mauricia Sanchez, of Princeton, 9-6, 9-10, 9-4, 5-9, 9-3 in the finals to win the CSA National Singles Championship title at Williams College, after taking four 3-0 consecutive matches to reach the finals, and defend his 2008 crown.  Sophomore Chris Binnie (Kingston, Jamaica) won the "b" tournament (Malloy Trophy) with five straight wins.  Senior co-captains Gustav Detter (Malmoe, Sweden) and Manek Mathur (Mumbai, India), Chaudhry, sophomore Parth Sharma (Jaipur, India), and freshman Vikram Malholtra (Mumbai, India) were each selected to the CSA All-American First Team, while sophomores Randy Lim (Penang, Malaysia) and Andres Vargas (Bogota, Colombia) each made the CSA All-American Second Team. 

Detter was also honored as Trinity's McCook Award recipient as the College's top senior male athlete, the NESCAC Men's Squash Player of the Year, to the All-NESCAC First Team, the NESCAC All-Academic Team, and the NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team, and as the CSA Skillman Trophy recipient for on-court poise and demeanor, skill level and ability in the game of squash, team play, contribution to intercollegiate squash, leadership, and cooperation with players, coaches, and tournament officials.  Trinity Head Coach Paul Assaiante (15th Season) was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, Mathur and Chauhry each joined Detter on the All-NESCAC First Team, and junior Supreet Singh (Mumbai, India), Lim, and Sharma each graced the All-NESCAC Second Team.  Senior captain Rushabh Vora (Mumbai, India) and senior Ian MacGregor (West Palm Beach, Fla.) were also selected to the NESCAC All-Academic Team.

In all matches, Trinity posted a combined individual record of 160-11 (186-25 in dual matches).  Binnie finished with the most wins on the team and the team's best record at 18-0 (2nd-best season record in Trinity history), while Chaudhry was 16-1, and Malholtra was 15-1.  Detter and Sharma were each 17-2, while Vargas and Mathur were both 15-3, Vora was 12-3, Lim finished 12-4, and Singh was 9-5.  Detter finished his career with a record of 65-11 (2nd most wins all-time at Trinity), while Mathur closed his career with a 52-11 mark, and Vora finished at 48-6.   Fellow senior captain Charlies Tashjian (Old Greenwich, Conn.) was 7-0 this season and a perfect 34-0 for his career (tied for College's 2nd all-time best record), while MacGregor and classmate John Lingos-Webb (Milton, Mass.) finished their careers with a respective records of 6-0 and 12-0.