Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trinity Wins 200 Men's Squash Matches In A Row, Advances In National Tourney

Trinity Wins 200 Men's Squash Matches In A Row, Advances In National Tourney

Lawrenceville, N.J. - Senior captain Gustav Detter (Malmoe, Sweden) and sophomore Chris Binnie (Kingston, Jamaica) posted victories minutes apart with identical scores at the No. 2 and No. 8 spots, respectively, to give the Trinity College Bantams their fourth and fifth victories en route to a 9-0 shutout of the Dartmouth College Big Green and Trinity's 200th consecutive men's squash victory at Lawrenceville School this afternoon. The win in Trinity's quarterfinal match of the College Squash Association (CSA) National Team Championship Tournament, pushes the top-ranked and top-seeded Bantams into the tourney semifinals against No. 5-seeded Harvard tomorrow at 3 p.m. at Princeton.  Trinity, defending its national championship crown for the 10th year in a row, improves to 17-0 and extends the longest active winning streak in any intercollegiate varsity sport to 200 triumphs in a row.  The streak began with a 9-0 win over Tufts in November of 1998, after the Bantams had lost, 5-4, to Harvard in the CSA National Championship Finals to end the 1997-98 campaign, and includes 10 national titles.

"Thinking about 200 wins makes me think of all the outstanding young men who have been a part of it for the last 11 years," said Trinity Head Coach Paul Assaiante.  "Each and every one of them can be proud of this accomplishment."

Trinity dominated Dartmouth, winning all 27 games in the match and surrendering no more than six points in any single game.  The Bantams led, 3-0, when Detter and Binnie, playing on adjacent courts, took care of their opponents at basically the same time to clinch the triumph just over an hour into the match.  There was no celebration by the Bantam players or coaches, who took a business-like approach while completing the four remaining matches.  No. 5-seeded Harvard won, 5-4, over No. 4-seeded Cornell to reach the semifinals.  Trinity defeated the Crimson, 8-1, in Cambridge during the regular season.

1. TC- Baset Chaudhry d. Andrew Boumford, 9-1, 9-2, 9-2
2. TC- Gustav Detter d. Nick Sisodin, 9-2, 9-2, 9-1
3. TC- Manek Mathur d. Ted Newhouse, 9-0, 9-1, 9-4
4. TC- Parth Sharma d. Brian O'Toole, 9-2, 9-0, 9-3
5. TC- Randy Lim d. Mike Lewis, 9-2, 9-3, 9-5
6. TC- Andres Vargas d. Tyler Young, 9-5, 9-6, 9-1
7. TC- Vikram Malholtra d. Steve Weatherwill, 9-0, 9-5, 9-1
8. TC- Chris Binnie d. Luke Lee, 9-2, 9-2, 9-1
9. TC- Rushabh Vora d. Dan Wagman, 9-4, 9-0, 9-4
Trinity 9, Dartmouth 0

 Click here for complete CSa Tournament results