Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trinity Men's Squash Defeats Harvard In CSA National Championship Semifinals

Trinity Men's Squash Defeats Harvard In CSA National Championship Semifinals

Princeton, N.J. – First-year Moustafa Hamada (Alexandria, Va.) got his team off to a quick start with the only 3-0 win of the match, as the visiting Trinity College Bantams posted a 6-3 victory over the Harvard University Crimson in the College Squash Association (CSA) Semifinals this afternoon at Princeton University’s Jadwin Courts.  Thirteen-time defending national champion Trinity, ranked No. 1 in the nation and seeded No. 1 in the tournament, improves to 18-1 with its 10th consecutive triumph and advances to the CSA Finals tomorrow at 12:30 p.m. against the host Princeton Tigers.  No. 4-seeded Harvard ends its season at 15-4.  No. 2-seeded Princeton downed No. 6-seeded Cornell, 7-2, in the other semifinal today.

Hamada’s win gave Trinity a 1-0 lead and the teams split the other matches of the first wave for a 2-1 Bantam lead one-third of the way through.  Trinity senior co-captain Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez (Mexico City, Mexico) came through with a 3-2 win in the No. 2 match, coming back from a 2-1 deficit to take the fourth game, 11-5, and the fifth game, 11-7.  Junior Johan Detter (Malmoe, Sweden) won at No. 5, fighting back from a 2-0 hole to win, 13-11, in game three and take the final two games by a combined score of 22-8, and sophomore Matthew Mackin (Greenwich, Conn.) stayed perfect for the season at 17-0 in the No. 8 match to allow Trinity to clinch the win early.

Junior Juan Flores (San Salvador, El Salvador) won, 3-1, in the No. 6 position to account for Trinity’s sixth points and freshman Miled Zarazua (Mexico City, Mexico) had earned a 3-2 win in the No. 3 match for Trinity’s second point of the day.

1. H- Ali Faraq d. Vikram Malhotra, 2-11, 11-8, 6-11, 11-9, 11-3
2. TC- Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez d. Brandon McLaughlin, 11-8, 7-11, 9-11, 11-5, 11-7
3. TC- Miled Zarazua d. Gary Power, 5-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-6, 11-9
4. H- Nick Hopcroft d. Reinhold Hergeth, 11-8, 4-11, 12-10, 11-9
5. TC- Johan Detter d. Tyler Olson, 6-11, 9-11, 13-11, 11-5, 11-3
6. H- Nigel Koh d. Vrishab Kotian, 11-4, 11-8, 9-11, 5-11, 14-12
7. TC- Juan Flores d. Zeke Scherl, 6-11, 11-9, 11-7, 15-13
8. TC- Matthew Mackin d. Jason Michas, 12-10, 6-11, 14-12, 11-9
9. TC- Moustafa Hamada d. Thomas Mullaney, 11-5, 11-8, 14-12
Trinity (Conn.) 6, Harvard 3