Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trinity Men's Squash Dominated Its Way Back To National Crown

Trinity Men's Squash Dominated Its Way Back To National Crown

Hartford, Conn. - Trinity, coached by Paul Assaiante (19th Season), finished the 2012-13 season with a perfect 19-0 record and captured its seventh consecutive New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championship title, its 17th straight Intercollegiate Squash Association Dual Match title, and its 14th CSA National Championship crown (Potter Trophy) in the last 15 seasons.  The Bantams finished the year ranked No. 1 in the CSA National Rankings.

"Like a phoenix, we rose from the flames," said Assaiante.  "I am so happy for the boys and for Trinity College."

Coming off the first season since 1997-98 that Trinity did not win every match and capture the CSA National Championship title, Trinity was determined to take back its crown this winter.  The Bantams won their first eight matches by a combined score of 67-5 entering a home contest against Yale, which had handed the Trinity's its first loss in the previous 252 matches in 2011-12.  The Bantams dusted the then-No. 4-ranked Bulldogs, 7-2, but needed back-to-back wins by rookies Juan Vargas (Bogota, Colombia) and Karan Malik (Mumbai, India) to clinch a 5-4 triumph at then-No. 5-ranked Rochester.  Trinity disposed of then-No. 6-ranked Cornel, 7-2, the next day, and dominated the NESCAC Championship Tournament at over Super Bowl weekend.  First-year Zeyad Elshorafy (Cairo, Egypt) broke a 4-4 tie with the clinching win in a 5-4 vicory at then-No. 3-ranked Harvard, and Trinity defeated then-No. 3-ranked Princeton, 7-2, in New Jersey to close the regular season and exact revenge for a 5-4 loss to the Tigers in last year's CSA Finals.  The Bantams dominated St. Lawrence, 8-1, in the CSA Quarterfinals and downed host Yale, 7-2, in the semifinals, before 3-0 wins by sophomores Moustafa Hamada (Alexandria, Egypt) and Vrishab Kotian (Mumbai, India) proved pivotal in a 6-3 win against Harvard in the CSA Finals.  Senior co-captain Johan Detter (Malmoe, Sweden) was honored as the Potter Cup MVP.  To close the year, Detter, junior Matthew Mackin (Greenwich, Conn.), and Elshorafy won consolation titles on their home court in the CSA Singles Championships.  Vargas finished as the No. 13-ranked player in the nation, followed by Detter at No. 18, sophomore Miled Zarazua (Mexico City, Mexico) at No. 19, and senior co-captain Reinhold Hergeth (Bloemfontein, South Africa).  Elshorafy had the team's best record with a perfect 17-0 mark.

Detter, Zarazua, and Vargas were each named to the CSA All-American Second Team, while Assaiante was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year and received a Trustee Award from the College at the end of the academic year.  Zarazua and Vargas also Hergeth on the All-NESCAC First Team, while Detter, Mackin, and Malik all graced the All-NESCAC Second Team.  Detter was additionally named as one of three finalists for the Skillman Award, given annually to the nation's senior men's player who has demonstrated outstanding performance and sportsmanship during his career, and represented Trinity men's squash on the NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team.  Vargas was presented with the team's Karl Kurth MVP Award, and Hamada, who tied for the team lead in wins at 17-1, was given the John A. Mason Most Improved Player Award.  Senior Juan Diego Lopez (Bogota, Colombia) was presented with the James Belfiore Award for having overcome adversity and inspiring his teammates, and senior Juan Flores (San Salvador, El Salvador) collected the Burbank Award for tremendous effort and hard work.  Detter was honored as a CSA National Scholar Athlete for the second year in a row, and joined Lopez, junior Sam Livingston (Nahant, Mass.), and sophomore John Lamont (Montreal, Quebec) on the NESCAC Winter All-Academic Team.

Seniors Marcus Bullen (Manchester, Mass.), Greg Crane (Boston, Mass.), Detter, Flores, Hergeth, Lopez, and Stephen Smith (Georgetown, Mass.) can be proud of the legacy they have left over the last four seasons, having combined to lead the Bantams to three national titles and a 79-2 team record.  Detter and Hergeth are both two-time All-NESCAC honorees and Detter is a two-time All-American.

Post-Season Awards Release

Academic and Sportsmanship Awards Release