Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 2 Men's Squash Takes Down No. 1 St. Lawrence, 7-2

No. 2 Men's Squash Takes Down No. 1 St. Lawrence, 7-2

Hartford, Conn. – In a battle of the top two men's squash teams in the country, Trinity College defeated visiting Saint Lawrence, 7-2, on Saturday afternoon in the Kellner Squash Center. The Bantams remain perfect and improve to 10-0 on the season, while the Saints suffered their first setback of the year to move to 7-1.

With Trinity leading 4-2 after two waves, first-year James Evans (Maidstone, England) won his match, 3-1, to clinch the victory for Trinity. In the fourth game, with the score tied at eight, Evans scored three of the final four points to remain undefeated in his career. Also in the third wave, senior co-captain Karan Malik (Bangalore, India) earned a come-from-behind five-game win at No. 4.

In the each of the first two waves, the Bantams took two of three matches. Senior Elroy Leong (Selangor, Malaysia) earned the first point of the day for the hosts with a 3-0 victory at No. 9. Leong trailed 7-2 in third game before rallying for the victory. Senior co-captain Moustafa Hamada (Alexandria, Egypt) gave Trinity its second point of the afternoon with shutout win at No. 6.

The Bantams third point came courtesy of a 11-5, 11-5, 5-11, 11-6 win from sophomore Affeeq Ismail (Kuching, Malaysia) at No. 8. Ismail remained undefeated on the year, winning his 10th match. Since joining the team, first-year Rick Penders (Maastricht, Netherlands) has made an immediate impact. He recorded his fifth win of the year with a 3-1 win at No. 5. After dropping the first game 11-9, Penders answered by taking the next three in dramatic fashion.   

Trinity returns to action on Wednesday, Jan. 21, with a pivotal contest versus in-state rival Yale at 6:00 p.m.

No. 1 Vrishab Koitan (TC) def. Amr Khaled Khalifa (SL), default to injury
No. 2 Miled Zarazua (TC) lost to Moustafa M. Bayoumy (SL), 3-0, 14-12, 11-6, 11-8
No. 3 Juan Vargas (TC) lost to Edgar Zayas (SL), 3-2, 10-12, 6-11, 11-8, 11-3, 11-6
No. 4 Karan Malik (TC) def. Ahmed Bayoumy (SL), 3-2, 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 1-11, 11-8
No. 5 Rick Penders (TC) def. Hussein Elrayes (SL), 3-1, 9-11, 11-6, 11-5, 12-10
No. 6 Moustafa Hamada (TC) def. Ibrahim Khan (SL), 3-0, 11-7, 11-8, 11-4
No. 7 James Evans (TC) def. Anderson Good (SL), 3-1, 11-8, 11-9, 5-11, 11-9
No. 8 Affeeq Ismail (TC) def. Duncan Maxwell (SL), 3-1, 11-5, 11-5, 5-11, 11-6
No. 9 Elroy Leong (TC) def. Lockie Munro (SL), 3-0, 11-5, 11-7, 11-2