Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Two Trinity Men's Squash Players Advance To Finals In CSA National Singles Championships

Two Trinity Men's Squash Players Advance To Finals In CSA National Singles Championships

Stamford, Conn. – Senior co-captain Affeeq Ismail (Kuching, Malaysia) defeated Yale's Kah Wah Cheong, 3-0, to win a Molloy bracket finals the College Squash Association (CSA) National Men's Squash Singles Championships this evening at Chelsea Piers.  Ismail won three close games, 11-7, 13-11, and, 11-8, after winning on Friday and twice on Saturday to reach today's finals, and automatically earns All-American Second Team recognition for today's win.  Bantam first-year Tom De Mulder (Gent, Belgium) also won three times to reach a final match today in the Molloy Division, but lost, 3-2, to Hayes Murphy after starting out with a 2-0 lead.

On Saturday, in the Pool Division, Trinity sophomore Rick Penders (Maastricht, Netherlands) had won his quarterfinal match, 3-1, against Drexel's Omar al Atmas, but lost in the semifinals by the same score to Ahmed Abdel Khalek, of Bates.  Penders had won his opening match, 3-1, over Yale's Thomas Dembinski on Friday.  Also on the first day, Trinity first-year Michael Craig (Belfast, Northern Ireland) lost in the opening round of the Pool bracket, 3-0, to Ryosei Kobayaski, of Rochester.  The Pool bracket features the top-16 players in the nation.

In earlier Molloy Division action, Ismail won, 3-1, after losing the first game in one bracket, while sophomore Omar Allaudin (Lahore, Pakistan) and De Mulder won, 3-0, in their respective brackets. Ismail and De Mulder each won twice, while Allaudin lost his quarterfinal match on Saturday.  The Molloy brackets are four 16-player tournaments featuring players ranked among the top 100 nationally.

Trinity men's squash has had three Pool Trophy winners, Marcus Cowie in 1997 and 1998, Bernardo Samper in 2002, and Baset Chaudhry in 2008 and 2009.  Cowie and former Harvard coach and Bantam alum Bill Doyle will each be inducted into the College Squash Hall of Fame at a gala on Saturday night.

The Bantams, coached by Paul Assaiante (22nd Season), finished the 2015-16 season with a 21-2 record and finished third in the CSA National Team Championships (Potter Trophy) at Yale last weekend.  The Bantams also won their 10th straight New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championship crown.


complete individual rankings

event information