Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women’s Ice Hockey Wins Overtime Thriller on Senior Day

Women’s Ice Hockey Wins Overtime Thriller on Senior Day

Hartford, Conn. – The Trinity College women’s ice hockey program finished its regular season schedule in thrilling fashion Saturday afternoon, taking down in-state league foe Wesleyan 2-1 in overtime. Sophomore Ellie Fellows (Westport, Mass.) knocked home a rebound with 2:21 remaining in overtime, propelling Trinity into its third league win of the season and securing a playoff spot.

With the win, Trinity is officially the eight-seed in 2019-20 NESCAC tournament; the seeding, officially announced Saturday evening, sees the Bantams travel to Middlebury on Saturday, February 29, at 1 p.m.

Trinity’s final home game doubled as its senior day, as Kai-Lilly Karpman (Playa del Ray, Calif.), Alex Sinson (Elm Grove, Wisc.), and Taylor Foy (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) were all congratulated for their careers in a Trinity uniform.

The Bantams fell behind early, despite owning the shot differential through the opening eight minutes. Wesleyan was able to capitalize on a loose puck just outside the crease; senior Caroline Seibold threw in the puck, and Cali Stevens was able to tuck home the game’s first goal.

Trinity trailed for nearly the remainder of the period, but a power play goal with 59 seconds tied the game. Junior Sierra Lee (Ferguson’s Cove, Nova Scotia) received a pass from senior Taylor Foy (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) and back-handed home a beauty to even the score.

After a scoreless third period, the Bantams entered its fifth overtime game of the season, looking to send its seniors home on a high note. With a power play opportunity in hand, Trinity converted; a shot from junior Camille von Steinbergs (Brea, Calif.) kicked out to Fellows, and with Wesleyan netminder Sam Smith on the opposite post, wristed home the game-winner.

Trinity finishes the season with a 8-12-4 overall record, with a 3-11-2 NESCAC record. For the second-straight season, the Bantams will make the playoffs as the eight-seed.