Vote For Trinity Wrestling Alum Robert Herbst As The Nation's Top Amateur Athlete Of 2013

Hartford, Conn. - Trinity College wrestling alum Robert Herbst has been selected as one of 19 nominees for the Amateur Athletic Union's James E. Sullivan Award as the nation's most outstanding amateur athlete.  Nominees include Olympic gold medalists David Boudia and Katie Ledecky, along with college football stars A.J. McCarron, from University of Alabama, Blake Bortles, from Central Florida, and Tre Mason, from BCS National Champion Auburn.

A 26-time National Powerlifting Champion, Robert Herbst overcame many obstacles in 2013 after suffering debilitating injuries in his elbow. Despite this injury, he placed first in the 50-54 age group at the AAU World Powerlifting Championships and placed second in the Open Division at the same event. He took home the gold in the AAU Raw National Powerlifting Championships, giving him his 18th consecutive AAU National Championship win. He placed first in the 55-59 age group in the World Drug Free Powerlifting Federation World Championships, collecting his second World Championship win of the year.

Today marks the first day of voting to find the winner of the 2013 AAU Sullivan Award. Voting is open to the public and will account for one-third of the athlete's overall score. The nominees were nominated by someone who thought they fit the requirements of outstanding athletic ability, strong character, leadership and sportsmanship. The public can cast their vote by going to Voting will remain open until March 23rd at 11:59 EST.

Three finalists will be named no later than March 28th and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11th at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, Fla.
The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930, and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include: Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow, Shawn Johnson and Missy Franklin.