Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trinity Women's Rowing Races Well In Season-Opening Head Of The Riverfront Regatta

Trinity Women's Rowing Races Well In Season-Opening Head Of The Riverfront Regatta

East Hartford, Conn. - The Trinity College women's rowing team opened the 2018-19 season as one of the host sites of the Head of the Riverfront Regatta on the Connecticut River this afternoon.  The Bantams entered two boats in the Open 8+ race that finished 11th and 12th, respectively, in a 19-boat race, while its two entries in the Open 4+ race came in fourth and sixth, respectively, among a field of 11.  Trinity will next race in the Head of the Housatonic Regatta next Saturday in Derby, Conn.

"We raced two evenly-boated crews in the Open 8 event as opposed to boating up a 1V8 and 2V8," said Trinity Head Coach Heather Barney.  "We've been making a lot of progress with that set up in practice the past few weeks, and wanted to maintain that bigger team focus in this early season race. Both crews were able to identify important areas for improvement. We were amazed at how even the two eights turned out to be, finishing just 0.16 seconds apart! We're looking forward to using that level of internal competition to continue making strides over the coming weeks.  We were also pleased with the performance of our two fours in the afternoon, and thought our "B" four had an especially strong race, finishing as the top "B" entry in the field. We look forward to seeing those two crews continue to develop over the next three weeks heading into the Head of the Charles in Boston on October 21st."

Open Eights:
C – Zoe Russell '20, S – Kirsten Thiim '20, 7 – Aria Mildon '21, 6 – Molly McGonigle '19, 5 – Summer Dow '22, 4 – Sawyer Ames '21, 3 – Jules Petrillo '22, 2 – Emily McLeod '19, B – Erin Murphy '19
C – Courtney Robb '21, S – Lucy Hainline '21, 7 – Claire Grigglestone '21, 6 – Lillian Belletete '21, 5 – Julia Gorka '19, 4 – Victoria Milso '22, 3 – Isabel Teel '21, 2 – Katie Cerulle '22, B – Erin Gannon '19

Open Fours:
C – Courtney Robb '21, S – Kirsten Thiim '20, 3 – Aria Mildon '21, 2 – Lillian Belletete '21, B – Claire Grigglestone '21
C – Zoe Russell '20, S – Lucy Hainline '21, 3 – Julia Gorka '19, 2 – Summer Dow '22, B – Annie Moore '22